Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Got a story to tell for the magazine? Get in touch with the editor!

media

Author Topic: Nasal issues  (Read 737 times)

Moofish

• First Flush
Nasal issues
« on: February 29, 2024, 10:55:18 PM »

Hello
Be gentle with me please - I’m a newbie!
Age 49 and had Mirena coil for 15 years and not had a period in that time.
I seem to have various symptoms; hot flushes, urinary frequency (scan has shown I retain urine but no obvious cause) and a weird one……I’ve started seeing some blood in my nasal mucus and feeling a very odd sensation in my nose (almost like a very feint burning feeling). I don’t feel congested but I occasionally use a saline nasal spray and when I do this I can hear I’m congested.
It’s the blood that’s concerning me. I’m due to see my Dr on 12/3 but wanted to know if the blood/nose issue was a peri thing. They’re certainly not loads but it’s re-current.
Also, although having not had a period in 15 years, yesterday I had what I can only describe as period pain. It came on very suddenly, lasted all day and I was absolutely sure I was going to have a period. I was absolutely exhausted too - I felt just like I used to when I was due on, pre Mirena. Today the pain had completely gone but I’ve had no blood or spotting at all.
Thanks for reading. Any reassurance gratefully received.

sjpercy3

Re: Nasal issues
« Reply #1 on: February 29, 2024, 11:38:09 PM »

Hello and welcome! Are you taking oestrogen? I think I know the feeling you're describing. Nasal issues were one of my 1st peri symptoms. I wonder if it's dryness in your nose caused by low estrogen.

Taz2

« Reply #2 on: February 29, 2024, 11:48:00 PM »

Hi Moofish  :welcomemm: