media

Author Topic: Newbie  (Read 1370 times)

Lynikinz

• First Flush
« on: July 21, 2023, 11:59:09 AM »

Hi everyone
I’m a newbie to this forum.
I appreciate you taking the time to read my post as I know it’s a long one 🫢

I began my menopause journey when I was 40, confirmed by a blood test and started on HRT at 41. Everol sequi patches
I remained on them for 18 years until February this year when I was diagnosed with breast cancer.
The receptors for which are oestrogen and progesterone dependent so obviously I was told to stop the patches.
So back to menopausal symptoms with a bang. This time round things were twice as difficult as along with the fatigue, hot flushes and night sweats I now have vaginal atrophy.
When I visited my GP back in March regarding this she just told me to buy some lube and gave me a blood test for CA125 marker as I had tenderness in pelvis which I did remind her I do suffer with sue to IBS.
I asked her what this marker was for and she said ovarian cancer. Speaking to my nurse she advised me that I should put blood test on hold until I’d had my surgery as it could give a false reading.
So I had first lot of surgery in May and then had second surgery last week.
Both breasts were cancerous and I had lumps removed.
Now I’m waiting for letter to discuss outcome of sec op and to see if the margins were clear….
The VA is driving me mad and I’m currently using Hydromol ointment to wash with and after using the loo each time to wipe with. I’ve ordered some YES vm as I’m been advised that is very good.
I just feel totally worn out atm much like a costume of a woman.
I know coming off of HRT after such a long time was going to be tough as well as going through two operations in two months but I wondered if anyone out there can reassure me that there is life after all this