Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Menopause Matters magazine ISSUE 76 out now. (Summer issue, June 2024)

media

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Vagifem substituted by Vagirux  (Read 4386 times)

hwils

Vagifem substituted by Vagirux
« on: June 01, 2023, 05:12:37 PM »

Hi, haven’t been on the forum for a while. I’m 4 yrs post menopause at 54. I’ve been using Vagifem for many years due to terrible pain & burning, Vagifem completely solved these problems for me, which arose before all the menopausal awareness that we have now; so it was hard to get initially. Recently I was issued with Vagirux instead as my health board now prescribes this due to its multiple use applicator. This didn’t bother me at all & seemed environmentally friendly, however 3 wks later my problems seemed to be returning,  which after years of relief I don’t  think can be a coincidence, despite both preparations being the same -  estradiol? Bit puzzling. Bought Vagifem online in desperation & things have improved & but am using a bit more than twice a wk until things hopefully get back to normal. Just wondered if anyone else has experienced this with meds & do drs ever prescribe Vagifem for more than twice weekly? I do intend contacting dr but it’s diff to get even telephone appt as I work full time. Any advice appreciated!  :)

Joaniepat

Re: Vagifem substituted by Vagirux
« Reply #1 on: June 01, 2023, 05:33:14 PM »

The original strength of Vagifem was 25 mcg estradiol per tablet, so as a maintenance dose you could increase to 5 a week of the current 10 mcg version. If your GP blenches at this, remind them that the Estring delivers 50 mcg per week, or ask for the Estring instead.
JP x

hwils

« Reply #2 on: June 01, 2023, 05:43:08 PM »