Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Please have a look at the questionnaire page if you have a spare minute.

media

Author Topic: Utrogestan administration route, and bleeding history.  (Read 913 times)

Dandelion

Utrogestan administration route, and bleeding history.
« on: September 18, 2022, 12:11:31 PM »

A bit of history first :)

Sorry for the ramble - I hope it makes sense. I have tried to keep the contents of this post relevant.

I started peri 14 years ago, I am 56, I currently take 25mcg evorel and 200mg utrogestan, 100mg of which is oral, the other, vaginal.

I was put on sequential HRT in 2013.
I've been dependent on diazepam since 2016. I have been weaning off diazepam since 2016 under medical supervision. I was on a huge dose, 75mg, now down to 15mg.

In 2016 when I was still in peri, taking sequential hrt, 200mg orally, on the days I was not on the utrogestan, my mental state deteriorated, badly, I am autistic and had violent meltdowns.
I found the cause of my reduction in mental health was due to the progesterone.
There are ladies on a well known  benzodiazepine support forum who have had real hassle with progesterone, given that it's metabolites act on the GABA receptors, causing chaos for them, with natural cycles and endogenous progesterone and also HRT/Contraceptive pills.

This is not something I would expect my psychiatrist and Gynaecologist to know about, and they didn't, I was only through my own deterioration in mental state, plus the chaos the benzodiazepine dependent women on the well known benzodiazepine forum, plus several on here have had.

I have to keep my GABA receptors as stable as possible, and, so, I have to stay on the utrogestan.
My GP and gynaecologist have been informed about the interaction between progesterone metabolites and GABA/benzodiazepines, as neither consultants were aware.