Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Menopause Matters magazine ISSUE 76 out now. (Summer issue, June 2024)

media

Author Topic: Newbie here with 'early menopause'...  (Read 1132 times)

SarahtheFlower

Newbie here with 'early menopause'...
« on: August 17, 2022, 10:20:15 AM »

Hi There,

I've been reading around the Forum for some weeks and just decided to say hello  :)

Last year, at the age of 42, I was diagoned with early menopause.   I actually think it started over 10 years ago when I started on the combined pill as my periods were getting about 2 weeks apart.   I now know that the combined pill can mask the symptoms of menopause (and can be used as a treatment for it).   A couple of years ago I started getting night sweats.   After joking about it with work colleagues, someone suggested I got some blood work done and recommended a company called Medichecks, so I got done an 'Advanced Female Hormone' blood test done.   Sure enough, all my hormones levels indicated menopause.   I went to see an NHS doc armed with my results and had a 3 minute appointment during which she re-did the bloods and said it was early menopause (and that's all I got for that first appointment).   I was quickly prescribed HRT patches, with no information at all about how to use them (I was still having the bleed you get with the combined pill so I didn't know at what point in my 'cycle' to start using them).   So I Googled it and the first thing I read was that you can't be on the combined pill and HRT at the same time  ::) 

Anyway, finally got sorted with the mini pill and started on those and the patches.  I then found my symtoms got much worse, with anxiety, palpitations, fatigue, brain fog, weight gain and OMG the memory loss....!  I really felt like I was losing my mind in a very literal sense.