Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Menopause Matters magazine ISSUE 76 out now. (Summer issue, June 2024)

media

Author Topic: I've been told it's Early menopause - how do i know for sure?  (Read 783 times)

Busterh

• First Flush

Hi Everyone
I am new to all of this so i apologise for sounding like i don't know what i'm talking about, because i don't! I am 42 years old and for the past 9 months have been experiencing terrible night sweats ( i have to sleep iwth a fan on otherwise I tend to drip with sweat), I have hot flushes ( they are on and off), insomnia etc. I called the doctors who did blood tests and my FSH came back as 90. She has told me that I am therefore in the menopause and recommened HRT which we are discussing on Wednesday. I am happy to go on HRT but from reading info a lot of stuff says that you can't just tell the menopause from a blood test. ( I have the mirena coil so have no periods). From reading between the lines though because my FSH is so high and I have displayed symptoms it is likely to be the menopause..... does that sound right or should i be asking for any other tests to confirm it?

Thanks so much for your advice.

CLKD

• changes can be scary, even when we want them
Re: I've been told it's Early menopause - how do i know for sure?
« Reply #1 on: August 24, 2020, 06:58:51 PM »

Hi!   you may be in peri-menopause the time when periods become intermittent along with hot flushes, anxiety, crashing fatigue  ::).  The Change - does what it says on the tin   :-\.  Some ladies find that keeping a mood/food/symptom diary of use.  Do read round the forum, make notes ;-).

:welcomemm: My periods waxed and waned for years but I knew what it was.  Blood tests are reliably unreliable  ::) because hormones alter all the while.