Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Mobile version of the Forum Click here

media

Author Topic: Does HRT just postpone symptoms?  (Read 2284 times)

Fayhero19

Does HRT just postpone symptoms?
« on: February 11, 2020, 08:48:41 PM »

Hi everyone, newbie here!

I'm nearly 4y post BSO and have been on HRT from 6weeks after op. Could anyone let me know does HRT just postpone the symptoms of meno? I've been told I will need to stop after 5y and am terrified of being hit with symptoms like a truck like just after my op.

Thanks for any advice, experience or opinions x

CLKD

• changes can be scary, even when we want them
Re: Does HRT just postpone symptoms?
« Reply #1 on: February 11, 2020, 09:01:17 PM »

Hi - what's BSO ?

Since you went onto HRT ideas about length of treatment has altered.  Some ladies remain on it for ever.  Others have a break to see where they might be in their menopausal journey.  Maybe think why you began treatment initially?  What are you actually using to ease symptoms?

Do read round.  Especially those threads about vaginal atrophy ;-).

I am sure someone who takes HRT will be along.

MicheleMaBelle

« Reply #2 on: February 11, 2020, 09:02:43 PM »

Total rubbish. You can continue as long as you feel like it provided you have no underlying medical issues. Tell your docs to read the Nice guidelines on prescribing.
Also, nonsense about it delaying the onset of symptoms. If you stop and have symptoms, you would have had them anyway regardless of whether or not you took HRT. The clock doesn't reset.
Unfortunately some women can have symptoms for quite a long time. X

Sammiejane

« Reply #3 on: February 11, 2020, 11:42:16 PM »

BSO is bilateral salphingo oopherectomy

in short removal of ovaries

i was told to remain till 51 minimum

Penelope

« Reply #4 on: February 12, 2020, 01:29:21 AM »

Hello you need to do some googling Jane Seymour came off then went back on.