Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Follow us on Twitter and Facebook

media

Author Topic: Newbie here, struggling with perimenopause  (Read 1316 times)

Pickynic

• First Flush
Newbie here, struggling with perimenopause
« on: December 10, 2019, 09:35:52 AM »

Hi!

I found this forum about 3am this morning when I was unable to sleep & having a bit of a meltdown.
I'm 46 and have been dealing with perimenopause for about 4 years now.

I initially went to my gp for blood tests because of night sweats & skin problems. He told me my results were "unflattering" before explaining I was perimenopausal! :o

The night sweats aren't too bad nowadays, but the other issues are awful. The worst being anxiety with chest pain and heart palpatations. I've had ecg's, chest xrays, stress test and the 48hr ecg, which were all clear.

But on nights like last night, when I have horrible chest pains on & off all night, I end up thinking I'm going to die.

My mood swings are awful too, I basically spent the weekend in tears and have gone from being a confident person, to someone with crippling anxiety. I feel like I'm in a constant state of fear and panic.

I'm so bloody sick of it. So I'm hoping I've found somewhere where I might get reassurance and at least other people will understand. :)

And any advice on stuff that might help will be gratefully recieved!!!

CLKD

• changes can be scary, even when we want them
Re: Newbie here, struggling with perimenopause
« Reply #1 on: December 10, 2019, 03:48:03 PM »

Did your GP not suggest HRT?  Early symptoms often benefit from HRT to protect heart and bones.  Daisy web-site might be worth a browse too.

Some find keeping a mood/food/symptom diary of use. It shows us that not every day is awful ;-).  How R your periods on the whole?