Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Menopause Matters magazine ISSUE 76 out now. (Summer issue, June 2024)

media

Author Topic: Perimenopause? And alternative therapies.  (Read 1046 times)

Balance

Perimenopause? And alternative therapies.
« on: May 13, 2019, 01:30:44 PM »

Hi,

I'm new to this forum and apologies if posting in the wrong section.

I've diagnosed myself (based on research and symptoms) being in the perimenopause about 10 years ago - I'm now mid 40's. The GP and gynaecologist however say my hormone levels are normal, though state perimenopause is a clinical diagnose and cannot be measured (?).

Recently symptoms escalated and I suffer from;
- Extreme tiredness
- Itchy skin
- Pain in muscles and joints
- Pins and needles left hand and right shoulder
- Anxiety
- Frequent toilet visits

I live quite healthy and I've started acupuncture alongside yoga and Tai Chi which I've been doing for several years.

I wondered if anyone has/had similar symptoms and what they do/have done to reduce them. I prefer the natural way of dealing with this quite intense phase.

Thank you

CLKD

• changes can be scary, even when we want them
Re: Perimenopause? And alternative therapies.
« Reply #1 on: May 14, 2019, 04:52:52 PM »

Menopause is natural but symptoms can take over.

If you are in your mid-40s then you may well need to protect your bones and heart.  Good weight bearing exercise is important as is eating plenty of fresh fruits/veg., getting fresh air and sleep - though that can be difficult  ::).

As oestrogen levels drop so the body may become dry: Skin, deep in the ears, nostrils, vagina [do read our threads about this one] .... a good quality hand cream can ease any itchiness: DH uses Nivea on his legs nightly and I find that the Vaseline in the yellow bottle good enough.  As well, muscles may become lax = aches and pains.  An over-the-counter pain relief will help.