Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Follow us on Twitter and Facebook

media

Author Topic: small red liver spots while on HRT and monthly bleed  (Read 2245 times)

Cocobra

small red liver spots while on HRT and monthly bleed
« on: April 18, 2017, 06:21:06 PM »

Dear All,

I am new to this wonderful forum (have learnt a lot already!) so I hope you don't mind me creating a thread as a 44-year-old, menopausal woman on HRT since September 2016 (Elleste 2mg solo and Utrogestan for 14 days). I understand it may be too personal but I have two questions which others may recognise:
1) I was in the sun a couple of weekends ago with my legs one of which was immobile as I have gone through foot surgery two weeks ago (not fun!) and two days later my immobile leg got covered in tiny red liver spots. I was wondering whether HRT is the culprit for these spots. I have read on the forum oestrogen stimulates melanin production.
2) I have read others on the forum have this and may be down to being peri-menopausal rather than fully menopausal and therefore having one's own hormones circulating around, but I have very different bleeds every month: some months I have very heavy bright bleeds (only lasting a 2/3 days) and some other it's all very dark, brown/black. Apologies for too much information. But is this normal? My next appointment with my gynaecologist is in December so I have no way of finding out until then.

Many thanks for anyone who can recognise any of this and has any views.

dangermouse

Re: small red liver spots while on HRT and monthly bleed
« Reply #1 on: April 19, 2017, 03:07:44 PM »

Could it have been ****ly heat? That tends to itch though which you didn't mention.

If not it could just be an abnormal reaction to the sun (which hormone ups and downs can cause) and maybe less blood flow to that leg made it more prone.

Katia

« Reply #2 on: April 19, 2017, 03:22:09 PM »