Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Please have a look at the questionnaire page if you have a spare minute.

media

Author Topic: Hi, newbie here, struggling with HRT, could do with some advice please  (Read 2944 times)

Milojo

Hi, I've just joined and need some advice about HRT please.

I'm 46 and I had a total hysterectomy 13 weeks ago. I started HRT 1mg Progynova tablets 4 weeks after the op. Before I started it I felt terrible, hot flushes, night sweats, tearful and generally unwell.

The sweats, night flushes and mood swings have stopped but have been replaced with insomnia. Some nights I get barely two hours, and I'm back at work so tired all the time.

For the last two weeks I've had terrible dry skin,  particularly on my face. My eye lids are cracked, around my mouth is very cracked and sore and I have red patches on my face. Nothing is relieving it, I've tried several lip balms, medicated cream from chemist but still dry.

I've spoken to my GP who thought HRT might be too low so increased me to 2mg. Ive been on this for a week and my sleeping has improved but skin is the same.

I also have aching joints and I feel agitated when I'm in bed. I also feel old and my mum thinks my face looks swollen. I do think I look like I've aged in 3 months  :-\

So I've Googled and these symptoms seem to indicate low estrogen, does this sound right?

I'm worried about the HRT increase as I'm overweight and scared of risks.

Do you think I should try a different HRT, maybe patches? Can anyone recommend if tablets, patches or other methods have better results.

I know its early days and its trial and error with HRT but im beginning to regret the op (even though my life is so much better without periods).

Thanks

dazned

Re: Hi, newbie here, struggling with HRT, could do with some advice please
« Reply #1 on: January 16, 2016, 07:14:37 PM »

Hi and  :welcomemm: