Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Not a Forum member? You can still subscribe to our Free Newsletter

media

Author Topic: Painful withdrawal bleeds on HRT? Anyone?  (Read 4511 times)

Sarah2

Painful withdrawal bleeds on HRT? Anyone?
« on: January 23, 2014, 03:11:43 PM »

Hi Ladies

I wonder if anyone can help me?

I've been using HRT for 5 years now- oestrogel and norethisterone for most of that time with 2-3 monthly long cycles, which is what my consultant gynae recommended.

I recently changed - 3 cycles back- to Utrogestan, 200mgs x 10 days per 2 monthly cycles.

The difference is that the withdrawal bleeds are now not so easily timed- they are starting on day 10 of taking Utrogestan, not 3 days after stopping, and my last 'period' a few days ago was incredibly painful- I was freezing cold, aching legs, sweaty, felt sick and faint. Thankfully I was at home but had I been out it would have been terrible.

I have frequent scans (I see my dr privately) and the last scan was just 3 months ago.

However, I really don't know how long I can carry on with these painful bleeds. I was able to time them like clockwork with Norethisterone but don't want to take it again because Utrogestan has a safer profile re. breast cancer, long term.

Compared to other women on sequential HRT my bleeds seem quite heavy and painful- so just wondered.

I may reduce the cycle length to 6 weeks or may try to reduce the Oestrogel to 1 pump instead of 2 daily to see how that goes. In the past when I've tried to reduce the dose my night sweats and insomnia have come back within a week.

Thanks.

honeybun

Re: Painful withdrawal bleeds on HRT? Anyone?
« Reply #1 on: January 23, 2014, 04:23:00 PM »