Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Menopause Matters magazine ISSUE 76 out now. (Summer issue, June 2024)

media

Author Topic: Hello and advice on patches please  (Read 2141 times)

Clara

Hello and advice on patches please
« on: September 23, 2013, 04:41:57 PM »

Hello everybody
I'm a returning newbie, was on here years ago but can't remember my log in details from way back then.

I'm in my 60's and have been on HRT since a total hysterectomy at 45.  I came off it for about a year after the big trial (2003?) but went back on it again due to reduced quality of life, mainly horrendous insomnia.  I was originally on tablets but have been on the lowest dose patches, Evorel 25, for a few years now.  My GP is happy to prescribe it for me, thank goodness, so long as I'm aware of the risks/benefits etc.

I've been fine with the patches,very occasional flushes but nothing I can't deal with and worth persevering with to be able to stay on it on the lowest dose at my age.

However I'm now finding that the patches don't always stay stuck down and I've been needing to use more than the prescribed 2 a week.   I've resorted to using micropore tape over the top but seem to remember reading somewhere that this decreases the effectiveness of the patches.  Does anyone know if this is true?

Also is it really necessary to stick the patches on bottom, hip or thigh?  I know the reasoning about putting them below waist level but what about putting them on the lower leg for example?  Is there some reason why I shouldn't do that? 

I hope someone can help!

Clara

Hurdity

Re: Hello and advice on patches please
« Reply #1 on: September 23, 2013, 05:14:08 PM »

Hi Clara