Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Not a Forum member? You can still subscribe to our Free Newsletter

media

Author Topic: HRT over 70  (Read 748 times)

Avalon85

• First Flush
HRT over 70
« on: June 27, 2024, 09:20:16 PM »

I’d really like to help a neighbour who I feel would benefit from transdermal HRT. I’m a Menopause Yoga teacher and a Wellness Coach so after a session I recommended she ask her GP. She was on a combined tablet version 20 years ago but stopped as it gave her breakthrough bleeding. I suggested she asked for Oestrogel and Utrogestan and she went away feeling hopeful, and relieved there was finally light at the end of the tunnel. She asked her GP but was told she is too old to start it again. They said there would be a stroke risk and heart risk which I completely disagree with and think this is the wrong advice.  She has severe muscle and joint aches as well as other classic symptoms. Wondered if anyone has some practical advice as I’d love to help her. She really wants to try HRT again.

Suziemc

Re: HRT over 70
« Reply #1 on: June 27, 2024, 10:46:57 PM »

No advice on the HRT, sorry, but I find Collagen really good for my joints and muscles. It's not cheap at £28 per month, but it helps me.

I didn't notice a huge difference at first, it takes about 3mths to have any effect and then it's not a flash bang wallop. But 6mths in I went on holiday for 3weeks and didn't take any, just 10 days in I noticed my knees hurting going upstairs and general aches when getting up out of bed. So it def works for me and I'd recommend it to anyone who can afford it.

Suzie

CLKD

• changes can be scary, even when we want them
« Reply #2 on: June 28, 2024, 07:10:19 AM »

Morning.  Her GP should have referred your neighbour to a dedicated menopause clinic; there are waiting lists, both NHS and Private.  Quality of Life is important.  70 is no age these days!!!