Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Follow us on Twitter and Facebook

media

Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: Newly "diagnosed"  (Read 1377 times)

JS79

Re: Newly "diagnosed"
« Reply #15 on: June 27, 2024, 11:40:49 AM »

I'm at the stage where I think some symptoms are peri, some may be something else like Fibro, ME, PoTS or PPPD and Al ot are exasperated by anxiety.
I work in a Hospital so have some medical knowledge plus OH is a paramedic, not sure if this is a good things some times

cbow111

• First Flush
« Reply #16 on: June 27, 2024, 11:53:58 AM »

This broke my heart and I’m sending so many virtual hugs.

I’m 47 and thought I had early onset Alzheimer’s. My vision was also blurring, and despite having an English degree I couldn’t find words.

I forgot the word for analysis at work. I was just sat there saying ‘you know, when you look at data and think about it’

I got very low and I just don’t feel like there was any point in anything. I was just failing and I didn’t understand why.

The night I was in that place, I was scrolling through my recordings to find something to watch and found Davina McCalls ‘’Sex, Myths and the Menopause’. I watched it. It was me.

I then found my copy of her book (which I bought as it would be helpful in my mid fifties) and read it cover to cover.

I was incredibly lucky. I booked an emergency GP appointment the next morning.

My doctor was a fabulous 40 something who was very knowledgeable. She asked me about my symptoms and when I’d finished telling her, I burst in to tears and said ‘I’m just broken’.

Her response was ‘You are not broken, but at the moment your hormones are. This can be fixed and I’ll help you’

I was already taking Sertraline but that wasn’t even mentioned. I asked if she needed to take blood and she said it wasn’t necessary. She asked how much I knew about HRT so I reeled off all my research and said I thought patches might be the best.