Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Follow us on Twitter and Facebook

media

Author Topic: 20 years post menopause - anyone else?  (Read 5259 times)

Lynney

• First Flush
20 years post menopause - anyone else?
« on: December 13, 2023, 08:18:19 PM »

I’m a newbie.
Anyone here 20 years post menopause? No HRT previously but I have osteoporosis and have been advised to consider it now.
There are schools of thought that it’s risky 10yrs post but then I worry about my bones! Any help please.

CLKD

• changes can be scary, even when we want them
Re: 20 years post menopause - anyone else?
« Reply #1 on: December 14, 2023, 09:15:50 AM »

Hi!  welcome.

Maybe consider your over all diet and exercise regime.  Brisk walking 10 mins a day can help maintain bone density.

Also check if you take any regular medication as a few may affect density. 

Also, have a lookC at the Osteoporosis UK support group.  Let us know how you get on.

Cassie

« Reply #2 on: December 14, 2023, 09:47:49 AM »

Yes I am 20 yrs post menopause but started meno in my 30s. Not sure if that counts. I dont intend giving it up ever, if I can help it. :-\

sheila99

« Reply #3 on: December 14, 2023, 05:42:55 PM »

I thought the 'window of opportunity' for the most benefit is within 10 years of meno? Using transdermal hrt the risk is very small and less than if you drink, smoke or are overweight. It's important to start low and increase slowly though so your body has time to adjust. Given how bad osteoporosis is imo it's worth trying.

Ceebee

« Reply #4 on: December 14, 2023, 05:56:59 PM »

I am 15yrs post meno (age 68) and also have recently been diagnosed with osteoporosis. Tried a bisphosphonate and could not tolerate it so decided to try hrt. My GP supported me and started late Oct with Evorel 25 patch and 100mg utrogestan (progesterone) but had problems with the latter (nocturia, dry mouth, high body temp) and nearly gave up.