Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Menopause Matters magazine ISSUE 76 out now. (Summer issue, June 2024)

media

Author Topic: Alcohol and utrogestan  (Read 841 times)

CarolineM

Alcohol and utrogestan
« on: October 14, 2023, 08:03:20 PM »

Quite an unimportant query really, compared to the awful things some people on here are going through.

I've been on Evorel 50 + Utrogestan for 2 months now and it's going well so far. I've not had any alcohol in that time because I've been trying to lose weight. Next month I'm away for a music weekender and am wondering about drinking.

Previous HRT has been Femosten, Evorel Sequi and Evorel Conti and I've not had any problems with alcohol and the progesterones in those, but I've no experience of Utrogestan + alcohol.

Thinking it should be fine in moderation, but just wondering if anyone has been particularly badly affected by alcohol when taking Utrogestan?

Thanks for reading,

Caroline     

Hurdity

Re: Alcohol and utrogestan
« Reply #1 on: October 15, 2023, 08:18:56 AM »

Hi Caroline

When I first started HRT I was using Cyclogest for many years, cyclically and alcohol definitely affected me when I was on that part of the cycle - but I was on a very high dose (400mg) which I didn't know at the time was way too much, so this could have been the reason.

Since menopause anyway I cannot take much alcohol but still enjoy a couple of small drinks at the weekends (and of course at Christmas spread throughout the day!). Since that time and taking utrogestan - I haven't noticed a particular sensitivity though if I say have 3 small drinks and too close to going to bed - it sometimes triggers a migraine.