Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Mobile version of the Forum Click here

media

Author Topic: Think I am perimenopausal  (Read 1034 times)

Panda2325

• First Flush
Think I am perimenopausal
« on: September 11, 2023, 01:43:00 PM »

Hi all,

I'm new to this and hope you can help. I think I am possibly at some stage of perimenopause. I still have periods but they aren't as predictable as they have been. Also have had some dizziness and ringing in my ears. I've been very anxious and depressed for a while now, it's really come to a head in the last couple of months. My GP has prescribed Citalopram which I used years ago to treat depression - I've been on it a week now and it hasn't helped yet. I mentioned getting a blood test for my hormone levels but she was quite dismissive about this. Should I be asking to be prescribed HRT?

Flossieteacake

Re: Think I am perimenopausal
« Reply #1 on: September 11, 2023, 01:52:57 PM »

Hello Panda and welcome to the forum. I think you know your body best and if you think this may be peri then I would say it is worth trying HRT. Erratic periods and low mood can be symptoms of peri.

Just to say, it usually takes longer then one week for an antidepressant to work. Hopefully that in combination with HRT will help your low mood.

CLKD

• changes can be scary, even when we want them
« Reply #2 on: September 11, 2023, 02:10:32 PM »

Continue with the AD.  Some find that keeping a mood/food/symptom diary of use.

Your GP is dismissive.  She should be up2date with peri after all the media programmes.  As oestrogen levels drop, the body may become dry: inside and out - skin, scalp, deep in the ears, nose, vagina ...... as well as muscles may become lax = aches and pains.  It's The Change - does what it says on the tin, sometimes with horns  >:(  ::)

Ask away.   :welcomemm:  Hormone blood tests are reliably un-reliable!

Hurdity