Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Menopause Matters magazine ISSUE 76 out now. (Summer issue, June 2024)

media

Author Topic: Muscle Twitching?  (Read 1594 times)

HBetty

• First Flush
Muscle Twitching?
« on: September 18, 2023, 12:22:10 PM »

Hello

Newbie here.

I have been wondering if anyone else has experienced muscle twitching as part of perimenopause?

It's been going on for around 9 months, widespread twitching in various muscles: face, legs, back, abdomen. It is driving me mad! Have seen GP, not overly concerned with normal neuro exam and bloods.

I have tried Magnesium supplements with no real improvement.

Now wondering if this could be hormonal and perimenopause? I'm 40,  periods a little irregular now but no drastic change. Also noting occasional heart palpitations, fatigue and significant more premenstrual mood change which has luckily never been an issue too much before.

Just wondering if anyone might have experienced similar or had any advice?

Thank you

CLKD

• changes can be scary, even when we want them
Re: Muscle Twitching?
« Reply #1 on: September 18, 2023, 12:27:52 PM »

Morning.  Hormonal upheaval can cause all kinds of weird feelings.  I found that a banana daily cured my restless legs.  As will 'nurofen' if the legs are bothersome at night.

Peri-menopause: those years when we notice symptoms that may/not be connected to hormones can creep up!  Some find that keeping a mood/food/symptom diary of use to chart progress.  Is there a symptom that you would like to ease?

Browse round.   :welcomemm:  ask away ..........

HBetty

• First Flush
« Reply #2 on: September 18, 2023, 04:24:28 PM »