Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Please have a look at the questionnaire page if you have a spare minute.

media

Author Topic: Estrogen level results.  (Read 1579 times)

Dorothy Gale

Estrogen level results.
« on: September 05, 2023, 09:55:10 AM »

Hi

Just a quick one please.

Going through HELL with perimenopause. Gp took bloods and it said on my results:

Oestradiol (E2) HS
Comment:
(HART18)  - LOW

* Serum oestradiol level:   78 pmol/L

Is 78 low?...Dr said she's not concerned at all and not causing her to feel any significance there for my symptoms??

Thoughts? Thanks. Xx

Can't always respond with long replies. Depends how I am. I have M.E xx

« Last Edit: September 08, 2023, 11:22:49 AM by Dorothy Gale »

Bandango42

Re: Estrogen level results.
« Reply #1 on: September 05, 2023, 01:41:15 PM »

Hi

I'm no expert but I believe that level is pretty low. My last level was about 500 and I felt utterly rubbish!

But we're all different, I think gp's tend to prescribe on symptoms rather than bloods. And levels can fluctuate during peri.

X

Dorothy Gale

« Reply #2 on: September 05, 2023, 02:07:40 PM »

Thank you for your reply.

Interesting. No wonder I feel so horrific.

I appreciate it x
« Last Edit: September 05, 2023, 02:09:21 PM by Dorothy Gale »

Ermin2trude

« Reply #3 on: September 05, 2023, 03:58:04 PM »

Hi Dorothy,

The menopause centre says

Before the menopause the amount of oestradiol you produce varies within your menstrual cycle between around 110-1285pmol/L but this range does vary [1]. Levels are at their lowest during the first few days of your period and highest in the middle of your cycle at the time of ovulation. The average level through the cycle is thought to be between 180-370pmol/L for most women[2].
In the perimenopause, your oestradiol levels become more erratic and can swing from very high to very low.