Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Mobile version of the Forum Click here

media

Author Topic: Is this brain fog?!  (Read 2548 times)

Jeanjeannie

Is this brain fog?!
« on: May 10, 2023, 09:55:40 PM »

Hi
I’m a newbie here and already feel comforted by so much information and supportive posts… thank you  :)

I’m 50 and I’ve been on hrt for only 3 weeks after I had what I believe was a menopausal panic attack out of the blue. No idea why- I was pretty chilled at the time.

My whole left side went numb and wobbly, I couldn’t breathe properly, my eyesight went dark at the edges… I honestly thought I was having a stroke.

I’d already been prescribed hrt - evroel conti 50 patches as I’d been suffering from hot flushes for a few months - but I resisted starting, after reading the leaflet, as I’d also just been diagnosed with a fibroid….

Anyway after that ‘attack’ I thought I’d give it a go… and ever since that I’ve still felt completely disconnected from the world. Like I’m sort of in the matrix?

I’m aware of everything that is actually happening and I can do everything I need to but it feels like I’m just an imposter living in this world. Like my head is full of cotton wool?

This usually starts about 9/10 am and is accompanied by really noticing eye floaters. Today I could almost see my pulse in my eyes. Later in the day- usually when resting it seems to go away.

Feel a bit like I’m going mad. Is this what they call brain fog? Any advice welcome. I’m due to see my gp for a follow up in 2 weeks

CLKD

• changes can be scary, even when we want them
Re: Is this brain fog?!
« Reply #1 on: May 11, 2023, 06:38:16 AM »

It sounds like you have reacted to the medication  ::) - how is your diet overall?  Low blood sugar can bring on panic attacks and HRT may cause fluctuations. 

Brain fog can range from forgetting names, feeling 'strange'; we have a thread, 'doing stupid things' so it's common .