Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Got a story to tell for the magazine? Get in touch with the editor!

media

Author Topic: Studying and Menopause!!  (Read 1011 times)

Cags123

• First Flush
Studying and Menopause!!
« on: January 15, 2023, 01:26:16 PM »

Hi!

I'm 48 and studying - nightmare time to do it  ;D I'm in 3rd year of my undergraduate course and on HRT but brain fog gets the better of me. I can be half way through a sentence, whether talking or typing, and forget what I was trying to say! Does anyone have any good tips on how to improve the brain fog and increase concentration? I had to defer Christmas exams because the combination of brain fog, zero concentration, rubbish sleep, loss of confidence (I've always scored pretty well in my essays but I have actual 'fear' now at trying to put one together because I feel constantly muddled), looking after my family and a bit of part time work thrown in became all too much and my anxiety (which I've never had before menopause) went through the roof. In a nutshell, I haven't put myself first and perhaps need to be a bit more 'selfish'.

I'm looking at MCT oil and magnesium - has anyone tried it and has it been effective? Appreciate any advice.

Thanks ladies!

sheila99

Re: Studying and Menopause!!
« Reply #1 on: January 15, 2023, 02:27:52 PM »

Are you on HRT? If not it might be worth a chat with your gp. IMO oestrogen deficiency is best cured by adding the oestrogen you no longer produce yourself.

Cags123

• First Flush
« Reply #2 on: January 15, 2023, 02:37:30 PM »

Hi

Yeah, I'm on Evorel Sequi patches. I had terrible monthly 'periods' with them the first 6 or 7 months - I literally could not go out the house and would require a clothes change it was so bad. Missed a bleed. Back to bleeding. In fact, I think I may have missed a bleed again. I'm all over the place!