Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Not a Forum member? You can still subscribe to our Free Newsletter

media

Author Topic: Horrendous facial excema  (Read 1134 times)

Roses4u

• First Flush
Horrendous facial excema
« on: November 29, 2022, 10:41:04 PM »

Newbie here. Having read relevant posts on here, I can't find my answer. Had menopause 5 years ago, now 57 but for the past 3 years had horrendous facial eczema so bad I couldn't go out, puffy, bright red  , very itchy, flakey, hot red face, couldn't cover with make up as would just flake off. I thought it was hormone related as had eczema as a kid until I hit 37 and had first child and it cleared completely.  Told doc this and could it be menopause and hormone related. Gp said no and i was sent to a dermatologist who gave me steroid cream in increasing strengths over 2 years for my face which didn't touch the horror which was my face. Dermatologist also didn't think it was hormone related and refused me hrt. My confidence was at rock bottom, any cover up make up had flaked off along with my dry face skin by lunchtime. Finally i moved house and had a new gp who listened and prescribed femiston conte. My face cleared in weeks. However after 3.months I started monthly bleeding again after 6 years without periods. Referred to gynae, they did a scan and everythin is luckily ok but is there a different hrt I can take to stop the bleeding. Im terrified to come off icurrent tablets in case face flares again. :-\

CLKD

• changes can be scary, even when we want them
Re: Horrendous facial excema
« Reply #1 on: November 30, 2022, 09:58:50 AM »

Hi!  sorry that you haven't had a response.

What is your diagnosis?  Roscea (sp) is common during menopause.  I think a few have this so hopefully will respond.