Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Not a Forum member? You can still subscribe to our Free Newsletter

media

Author Topic: Vagifem plus Replens or Ovestin  (Read 1036 times)

Shells99

Vagifem plus Replens or Ovestin
« on: October 05, 2022, 11:09:57 AM »

Hi there

I have been using vagifem 3 times weekly for about 18 months now and I think I'm ok internally.

I recently spoke to my GP about external dryness and some itching externally - around the vulva and entrance to vagina. She suggested Replens and when I asked about Ovestin she said there was very little difference, although I know that Ovestin contains oestrogen.
Anyway I have now got both prescribed and wanted to ask for advice on which one would be most effective.

I am tolerating the vagifem ok although I have had some allergic rashes from body moisturisers in the past so my skin can be sensitive.
I am leaning towards trying the ovestin first due to the oestrogen content and I did read a couple of negative posts about replens.

I would appreciate any tips or suggestions from ladies who have tried any or both of these for external use (any reactions, how much to apply, what time to apply etc.)

For information, I am currently taking tibolone (livial) and have been referred to a GP menopause clinic to discuss an alternative plus testosterone, so on a waiting list this past 6 months.

Flossieteacake

Re: Vagifem plus Replens or Ovestin
« Reply #1 on: October 05, 2022, 11:18:13 AM »

I would not use Replens as I have heard of people finding it irritates their skin. Ovestin is oestrogen and nothing like Replens which is a moisturiser. I find it helpful to use ovestin on the outer area. I mix it with Yes moisturiser and apply it that way. Yes and Sylk are nice and gentle.

CLKD

• changes can be scary, even when we want them
« Reply #2 on: October 05, 2022, 11:21:53 AM »

Another GP with no idea !!!!