Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Follow us on Twitter and Facebook

media

Author Topic: Dry mouth, potentially HRT related  (Read 1373 times)

Sjw75

• First Flush
Dry mouth, potentially HRT related
« on: August 27, 2022, 12:28:44 AM »

I would really love to know if anyone has experienced similar to me.
I am new to HRT, the doctor prescribed me elleste duet. I have taken the first packet and 7 tablets from my second packet.
Just under 3 weeks ago, I woke in the night struggling to swallow. I managed to get back to sleep before it happened again. This led to a full blown panic attack.
I saw the doctor the next day, he simply said its anxiety.
The last few days, I've been having the same difficulty swallowing. Usually after eating but it's becoming more and more frequent. When it happens, my body goes into panic, my swallow reflex just doesn't work properly, I have to force it. This is all causing me more anxiety to the point where I feel I can't breathe now. I'm scared to go to sleep and scared to eat.
I really do think my mouth is excessively dry. I'm trying sucking sweets, chewing gum and drinking water.
I'm pretty sure it's the HRT and I've not taken today's tablet.
In addition, I had my first HRT period and it was horrendous. The pain was akin to contractions. It also lasted over a week.
I don't think I'm going to take any more of it.
Has anybody else had a similar experience with a dry mouth and the swallowing issue I am describing?
Thank you so much for reading!

Flossieteacake

Re: Dry mouth, potentially HRT related
« Reply #1 on: August 27, 2022, 07:20:49 AM »

Hello Sjw75. Welcome to the forum. I also have times were my mouth is very dry. It is uncomfortable. I have heard of other women waking with the dry mouth you describe. I can understand why it is making you anxious.