Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Got a story to tell for the magazine? Get in touch with the editor!

media

Author Topic: Perimenopause and the contraceptive pill (Yasmin)  (Read 4145 times)

JenniferKnowles

Perimenopause and the contraceptive pill (Yasmin)
« on: August 15, 2022, 10:53:04 AM »

Good morning everyone,

I am brand new here so be gentle ladies lol.

So, I am 40 and over the last year have been experiencing out of character symptoms. Mood swings, rage, night flashes, physical feelings of anxiety. GP gave antidepressant medication but only helped a tiny bit.

After doing some reading up, i decided to choose to go on the combined birth control pill as a few people I know recommended this as it helped them.

I chose Yasmin as I read it it is meant to be very good for Perimenopause.

As I am new to this, I wondered if anyone has tried this pill or can tell me if indeed it is good at controlling/getting rid of symptoms?

All the best,

Jen

Floo36

Re: Perimenopause and the contraceptive pill (Yasmin)
« Reply #1 on: August 15, 2022, 12:32:39 PM »

Hi Jen,

It may be worth a try.  I tried eloine so the lower dose version and unfortunately it didn’t help at all.  Yasmin is higher Estrogen so may be better. 

JenniferKnowles

« Reply #2 on: August 15, 2022, 12:48:26 PM »

Oh Hi Floo36

Thank you for replying.

I haven't heard of that pill. So the lower dose ones do not work in Peri very well?

I hope Yasmin will do the trick then, hope its safe xx

JenniferKnowles

« Reply #3 on: August 15, 2022, 12:58:19 PM »

Sorry Floo (and others)

Just thinking, if the theory is that its low oestrogen causing these symptoms, especially physical anxiety, then if after say 6 weeks or so i am still symptomatic I should move up on a more oestrogenic pill such as Cilique (used to be called Cilest)?

J xx

Amazing grace

« Reply #4 on: August 15, 2022, 01:18:53 PM »

Hi jen,