Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Got a story to tell for the magazine? Get in touch with the editor!

media

Author Topic: Perimenopause bleeding  (Read 1033 times)

Fed up

• First Flush
Perimenopause bleeding
« on: April 29, 2022, 10:21:26 AM »

Hi All,

My first post on this site and hoping to find that I’m not suffering this on my own. I’m 52 and still perimenopausal!  :'( :'(

I started HRT last May (Elleste Duet) and since then have tried two other types (Utrogestan and Oestrogel & Evorel patches).

Since starting the patches I have been spotting in between and for the last two months have been having on and off heavy bleeding and clots with no more than a two day break in between.

I’ve never experienced these symptoms before starting HRT. I contacted the GP who said as I have tried a number of HRT options which haven’t really helped, why don’t I try stopping.

Well I stopped my patches two weeks ago and whilst flushes have been mild I’m on day 12 of bleeding varying between nothing overnight to heavy throughout the day. Im so depressed with it all. I just need a decent break from periods.

I’m supposed to go on a long awaited beach holiday in June but am totally dreading it if this bleeding doesn’t get under control.

Has anyone else experienced this when stopping HRT?

CLKD

• changes can be scary, even when we want them
Re: Perimenopause bleeding
« Reply #1 on: April 29, 2022, 11:49:56 AM »

Morning,  :welcomemm:  How long did you try each regime for, sometimes it can take 4-8 months for the body to settle.  How were your periods behaving B4 you began HRT?

Fed up

• First Flush
« Reply #2 on: April 29, 2022, 12:03:26 PM »

Hi. Thanks for taking the time to respond.

I tried Elleste for 6 months. The utro gave me chronic headaches so the GO told me to stop after a week and prescribed Evorel. I took that for 5 months.