Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Mobile version of the Forum Click here

media

Author Topic: Are you suffering the menopause all over again?  (Read 799 times)

Joey123

• First Flush
Are you suffering the menopause all over again?
« on: March 09, 2022, 01:31:26 PM »

It is good to read others' messages.  I don't feel so alone.

My question is "is anyone else suffering the symptoms of the menopause all over again?"

I have been enduring the menopause for 12 years now (early onset at 42).  After dreadful symptoms, I went onto HRT 10 years ago, which has been wonderful.   I am still on HRT, Evorel 50, progesterone and 10mg citalopram to calm the rages.

Recently, I have started with the symptoms I had 12 years ago, all over again - hot flushes, ridiculously red cheeks, histrionic outbursts, unable to cope with small amounts of stress, swinging between outrageous libidinous urges or no libido at all, and a sinking depression.  I am embarrassing myself at work.  I am so ashamed of myself with my red cheeks and sweating.  It is awful.  I am wondering if I need to go on a stronger HRT?  I have not spoken to my (very nice but male) doctor. 

Has anyone else had this re-occurrence of the menopause after so long?  I don't understand what is happening.

sheila99

Re: Are you suffering the menopause all over again?
« Reply #1 on: March 09, 2022, 01:39:04 PM »

Apart from the ovaries small amounts is also produced by the adrenals and fat cells so it may be this source which is declining. I've had to increase twice because of returning symptoms. It wasn't as long as 12 years though. If you need something to calm the rages too (assuming they came with peri) perhaps you've always been on too low a dose?

CLKD

• changes can be scary, even when we want them
« Reply #2 on: March 09, 2022, 02:53:29 PM »