Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Got a story to tell for the magazine? Get in touch with the editor!

media

Author Topic: Severe painful cramps since starting HRT, help....  (Read 1136 times)

geminij

• First Flush
Severe painful cramps since starting HRT, help....
« on: March 01, 2022, 09:07:24 AM »

Hi, I'm a newbie, first posting here.  I've been on HRT patches for a month now, yet I am finding the side effects so bad I don't know whether to continue or not.
 I was prescribed Evorel Conti patches by my Dr... the first Dr I saw told me to change the patch daily & place it on my upper arm, after I read the info leaflet I contacted the chemist who said the leaflet was correct ( change 2 x weekly & wear below the waistline)  I decided not to start the patches until I saw a different Dr as I was concerned whether I had even been given the right patch for my symptoms (severe brain fog, mainly night sweats, facial hair, tiredness) , I was reassured I was on the correct patch & bloods were taken to check my testestorone levels (which were really good the Dr said).  I wanted to ensure I would not gain weight as I'm already pre-diabetic & struggling to lose weight even though I exercise daily & eat a relatively healthy diet, I was told this was not a problem with the patch either.
However, since starting the patch, I feel more bloated, rings are tight to wear & waistbands are tight (some clothes no longer fit).  Even more concerning is that I have such bad cramps, like very severe period pains, a little in my stomach but really painful in my upper legs, it's not only keeping me awake at night (I suffer enough from insomnia without this) but they are so bad during the day as well I am having to continually take painkillers that are just taking the edge off, and it's making me struggle to concentrate at work.