Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Got a story to tell for the magazine? Get in touch with the editor!

media

Author Topic: Hi, newbie here  (Read 1903 times)

KM 14

• First Flush
Hi, newbie here
« on: December 06, 2022, 04:19:25 PM »

Hi everyone.

I was directed here by the Dr I spoke to today, so it's all very new & fresh (entering the unknown)

After a rough couple of years where I put all my symptoms down to a head ache condition, ( I have NDPH, chronic migraines & cluster headaches). These symptoms developed overtime & it was only upon receipt of my company's new menopause policy that the penny dropped.
I finally got myself organised & called Dr's today whereby I spoke to a very nice remote Dr (my surgery didn't have any f2f appointments). She believes I have perimenopause & has provided me with some information to consider, including signposting me to this site.

I have literally no idea what I'm doing or what happens next. I have an appointment next week where the nurse will do my BMI & blood pressure then I can let them know my thoughts on HRT.

It's hard to define when the symptoms started as I have had my headache condition for 12 years & many of the symptoms overlap, but I can probably say that the last 3-6mths have been the worst. I can cry at the drop of a hat (literally 🤣), my mood is lucky dip (no idea what it will be at any given time 🤷‍♀️😉), as for sleep it seems my body doesn't think I need it. Add to that the aching joints that means I creak more then the floorboards first thing in the morning 🤣. I have concluded that the menopause wasn't going to sneak by anymore.

I am generally an optimistic, upbeat person, but the emotional roller-coaster is beginning to take its toll & I no longer feel like me.

I feel that this site is going to be my saviour as I enter this next stage.

I am sure as I find my way around, more questions will surface (you'll probably see a lot of me 🤣🤣😉)