Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Not a Forum member? You can still subscribe to our Free Newsletter

media

Author Topic: New to Vagifem  (Read 1989 times)

PeanutButterCup

• First Flush
New to Vagifem
« on: November 04, 2021, 03:06:33 PM »

I'm new to Vagifem and hope that some of you may be able to offer some advice. There's a bit of a back story to all of this so apologies for the long post.

3 years ago when I was 47 I had a UTI, went to GP who did a dip test which was positive and prescribed a 3 day course of ABs. Urine not sent to lab for culture. No change in symptoms so went back and GP did another dip test which was now negative but was prescribed a 7 day course of ABS. Urine not sent to lab for culture.

No change after 7 days so back to GP again. Dip test was negative and GP prescribed another 7 day course of ABs. Urine not sent to lab for culture (see the pattern here!). I voiced my concern about taking so many ABs but GP said it was protocol.

Again no change so back to GP. Dip test negative and I begged her to send the urine to the lab for culture before being prescribed more ABs. She reluctantly agreed. Lab results back, negative for infection so GP referred by for a pelvic ultrasound which showed nothing.

I asked if there was a possibility this was all related to menopause as my periods were erratic and had been for the past year and I was also having lots of night sweats and difficulty sleeping, but she shrugged her shoulders and said it was unlikely and would instead refer me for a cystoscopy. Cystoscopy showed nothing, all was well.

Throughout all of this I had the constant feeling of needing to pee all the time even though I didn't and a tickle/burning in my urethra, all very uncomfortable and just like a urine infection.