Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Menopause Matters magazine ISSUE 76 out now. (Summer issue, June 2024)

media

Author Topic: When to stop using HRT?  (Read 1113 times)

Franco

When to stop using HRT?
« on: February 23, 2021, 12:57:59 PM »

Hi All I have been using Estradiol 100micrograms twice a week for about 5 years and I am wondering when I should stop using HRT.

I feel fine using them but at nearly 58 should I be looking to come off HRT...could I have finished going through the menopause and be on the other side? Is there a benefit to continued use to bone and general health?

Unfortunately my GP practice aren't very helpful as most of the doctors are male and I've found they just don't have the knowledge or understanding of HRT so a conversation with them really doesn't help.

Feedback would be very much appreciated.
Thank you.

CLKD

• changes can be scary, even when we want them
Re: When to stop using HRT?
« Reply #1 on: February 23, 2021, 01:02:54 PM »

If it ain't broke why mend it?

The way to find out if you have finished periods is to stop HRT and some really need to know.  However, if you find symptoms still bothersome the HRT may not work as well 2nd time round.

Do U keep a mood/symptom/food diary to chart progress?  Which symptom would you not like to have should U stop HRT?

I don't take HRT other than for vaginal atrophy but I know that once I found HRT that suited, I would get on.  I probably wouldn't think about how far along I might be.  Certainly when I found an antidepressant that works, I would never consider stopping it as I don't want symptoms to return.

Franco

« Reply #2 on: February 23, 2021, 03:25:47 PM »

Hi thanks for the quick response.

I had a partial hysterectomy 19 years ago so a very long time since I had a period :-)