Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Not a Forum member? You can still subscribe to our Free Newsletter

media

Author Topic: Vagifem & Estrogel - can they be taken together? I'm a newbie  (Read 5552 times)

candicet

Vagifem & Estrogel - can they be taken together? I'm a newbie
« on: January 29, 2021, 12:43:46 PM »

Hi Everyone
I'm new to this site and to HRT.
I had done a bit of research via Dr Newson, and had a consultation with my GP who originally prescribed me Vagifem 10mcg for 2 weeks and then 2 x a week, as I'd had a really painful smear test last summer. I was also prescribed micronised progesterone to take daily.

Then I thought about the fact that Vagifem is a localised  treatment, went back to my GP and asked for Estrogel because I have systemic symptoms which I want to treat as well. She has prescribed the Estrogel but she said I shouldn't take that and the Vagifem.

I have no history of Breast Cancer in the family and no underlying conditions that would have made her say this. I think she just thinks it's standard advice.

So my question is - can I take both simultaneously? I felt like the Vagifem were making me more comfortable almost within the first couple of days - less urgency to pee - so I'd quite like to stay on it as well as the Estrogel. I also watched a video last night on Dr Newson's Youtube channel where I'm sure the panel said you can take both but I wasn't sure if they meant Vagifem, or the cream or some other type of localised brand.

Any advice or experience with this? Look forward to hearing from you and looking forward to getting to know this site.

Thankyou x

Joaniepat

Re: Vagifem & Estrogel - can they be taken together? I'm a newbie
« Reply #1 on: January 29, 2021, 01:27:53 PM »

Hello candicet, welcome to the forum.