Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Mobile version of the Forum Click here

media

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Does it always take three months?  (Read 2042 times)

Scampidoodle

Does it always take three months?
« on: September 04, 2020, 01:52:22 PM »

Hi I am new to HRT (well since April) and I know it seems to be 3 months when you get reviewed by the consultant to see how you’re getting on and they say to give it 3 months.

I’m just curious as to whether it does generally take 3 months for things to even out for people?

And does this apply to pumps of oestrogel for example (or doses of any other) that you could try 2 pumps and wait 3 months and if no better then increase?

Also curious as to how it feels when it works? I see some people have an overnight change and in others is it gradual or a bit up and down till it settles?

Just getting my head round it all  :) x

Brit66

Re: Does it always take three months?
« Reply #1 on: September 04, 2020, 04:40:55 PM »

I am interested in this subject too, I'm about to start hrt so hopefully you will get lots of replies!

Jane50

« Reply #2 on: September 04, 2020, 05:00:16 PM »

Hi,

Welcome to HRT!

I think as you say, everyone is different and it's not an exact science more's the pity...

I was on patches initially and they worked within a couple of weeks and my symptoms disappeared. Sorted, I thought!.... However!.... After 6 months on the patches my symptoms started to return... I was then put on tablets for 2 months but gave up because I felt so awful. I am now on oestrogel and utrogestan. Started on 2 pumps and over the course of 10 months have increased to 5 pumps. Its been a bit up and down tbh. Maybe I've just not found the right one for me yet... Bit like men!  ;D So no pattern to any of it unfortunately!

You may and probably will have a completely different experience!

Hope it all goes well for you  :)

Baby