News:

Not a Forum member? You can still subscribe to our Free Newsletter

media

Author Topic: Hello  (Read 1109 times)

Rosy98

Hello
« on: June 22, 2020, 02:59:21 PM »

Hi Everyone,

I am 49 and I work as a theatre nurse, I was recently diagnosed with microvascular angina and high blood pressure (190/120) so I have started on medication for this, and the blood pressure is coming down slowly. I had been having hot flushes for about 2 years but I coped with these OK.

I have a Mirena coil and this was changed in March this year as I have always had really bad dysmenorrhea and flooding. I have been bleeding since the coil was changed, about 4 months now and I started going very dizzy about 4 weeks ago, I was found to have low Iron when I had blood tests before starting on the blood pressure medication, something I have never had before so I have been taking iron tablets as well for 2 weeks.

My main problem is dizziness and it has meant I have not been able to work for 4 weeks. I feel under great pressure to go back but I don't feel safe to drive or to look after patients. I have only had telephone consultations with my GP because of lockdown and these are quite brief. I think the dizziness is menopause-related.

Although I am a nurse I have worked in theatres for a long time and the menopause is not something I know a lot about. The dizziness is really horrible and I feel like I am falling backwards then I feel hot and cold like Im on fire then ice water has been thrown at me. Is this normal? I feel like I'm going crazy. I also have fairly bad asthma and that has not helped.

Has anyone experienced anything similar? I don't know what to do with myself  :'(
« Last Edit: June 22, 2020, 03:06:45 PM by Rosy98 »

CLKD

• changes can be scary, even when we want them
Re: Hello
« Reply #1 on: June 22, 2020, 04:44:47 PM »