Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Please have a look at the questionnaire page if you have a spare minute.

media

Author Topic: HRT and periods  (Read 723 times)

HannahBow

• First Flush
HRT and periods
« on: May 21, 2020, 12:08:00 PM »

Hi, this is my first time posting, so hope I do it right and get some answers!! I will tell my story as it leads to the questions I have. I started getting hot flushes about 4 years ago and was referred to the Meno clinic at the local hospital. I was still having periods most months, although sometimes they were quite light. I was put on Evorel Sequi patches, which worked like a dream. For the last 6 months of being on them, however, my flushes started returning, albeit not as severely, which I recognise is probably my natural depletion of hormones over time. Because of the national shortage of the patches, I had to struggle without anything for about 6 weeks, hoping they would come back in stock. I didn't want to try anything else as I used to have a lot of side effects with the oral contraceptive pills, so I wanted to stick with the patches (no pun intended!). During the time without them, the flushes and night sweats returned with a vengeance! During that time though, I didn't have a period, although I had period pain. I messaged the GP to ask for an alternative when I gave up hope, and I was put on Evorel 50 for the oestrogen, and Utrogestan vaginal pessaries, 200mg to be used for 12 days. I am now experiencing an extremely heavy period. So, the questions I have are: If I didn't have a period for the time I wasn't on the HRT, does that mean my natural periods may have stopped or be stopping? In other words, are the periods that are produced whilst on HRT actual periods caused by ovulation, or are they brought on by the extra hormones? If this is the case, how can I tell if my body is actually nearing, or at, menopause?  If I am at menopause, is it safe to have