Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Menopause Matters magazine ISSUE 76 out now. (Summer issue, June 2024)

media

Author Topic: Hello from a new forum member....requesting advice  (Read 943 times)

Ruth CA

Hello from a new forum member....requesting advice
« on: April 24, 2020, 08:28:25 AM »

Hello all, thanks for accepting me onto the forum, I'm very new to all this, thanks for your patience!

I'm after some advice regarding where am I on this 'perimenopause rollercoaster' I'm 53, have had a few tingling arm/hand problems, sore knees (but I do run and play hockey a lot), not on any form of HRT (and I'm determined to keep that way as I have a feeling my weight will be affected big time), keeping the weight off with lots of exercise and good food choices, had 24 months of wibbly-wobbly periods and the last 3 months none at all.....Up until the last 3 months I'd also never had flushes (day or night although my sleep has been disrupted for 18-24 months), so I'm wondering if this is linked and a sign that I'm heading to the light at the end of the tunnel?

I know the boffins/drs say perimenopause becomes menopause once you've not had a period for 12 months and it's a different journey for all women but has anyone else had experience of other signs that suggest they are nearing the end of the 'perimenopause rollercoaster'? I can't ask my mum about her experiences as she had a hysterectomy early before she started her own 'perimenopause rollercoaster' naturally.
thanks for any info.

CLKD

• changes can be scary, even when we want them
Re: Hello from a new forum member....requesting advice
« Reply #1 on: April 24, 2020, 01:08:49 PM »

Hi! each journey is individual.  Mine periods waxed and waned for years then stopped.  I didn't stop carrying protection for 5 years though, in case  ::) and for years after, I would get period pains and think "Not after all this time!"