Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Got a story to tell for the magazine? Get in touch with the editor!

media

Author Topic: Please could I have some advice re HRT?  (Read 835 times)

HarvestMoon

Please could I have some advice re HRT?
« on: February 16, 2020, 01:55:03 PM »

Hiya, I would really appreciate some advice from you knowledgeable ladies please.
I'm 53 and am now 10 months without a period, although I had gone around 8 months without prior to my last one.
I'm lucky as I don't particularly suffer with any dryness, but I am waking up every night, every 2 hours quite warm (despite a 1 tog quilt!) and then I'll have a wee. Often I can't get back to sleep and I'm now I'm knackered, really down in the dumps and basically can't be arsed with much. I'm also a bit short tempered and narky, which is not like me 😳 This has been going on for over 18 months. I've been using Vagifem 3 times a week for the last 7 months and it's not made any difference.

I do a lot of exercise and am really appreciating the lack of periods as I road cycle and swim.

So, having done some research and looking at Louise Newson's website I would like to try Oestrogen Gel and Utrogestan inserted vaginally. So here's my questions.

Firstly, as I'm 53 and 10 months period free, I would like to take Utrogestan every night, rather than have a break as I don't want periods back. I know that's 2 months early, but considering my age and lack of periods, would that be ok ? And I know I'll have to fib to my GP ...and also that I might start to bleed for 3 to 6 months

Secondly, to take Utrogestan vaginally, which I've read means less risk of side effects, how do I insert it?

Any help you can offer would be great.

Thankyou

CLKD

• changes can be scary, even when we want them
Re: Please could I have some advice re HRT?
« Reply #1 on: February 16, 2020, 03:17:29 PM »