Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Menopause Matters magazine ISSUE 76 out now. (Summer issue, June 2024)

media

Author Topic: Femoston Advice needed  (Read 672 times)

Sandie64

Femoston Advice needed
« on: September 16, 2019, 05:33:31 PM »

Hi all
I have recently had an assessment at the gynae clinic.  I am 55 post menopause.  The consultant suggested I try Femoston Conti 1/5 after having bad depression and feeling suicidal on elleste duet 1 year ago. 
I have just received a copy of the letter sent to my gp asking to prescribe 1/5 conti.  At the time of the assessment I was given a prescription for Femoston 1/10 and didn't realise the difference. 
I am 10 days into femoston 1/10 and due to take the progesterone part. 
My question is can I cut the progesterone tablet in half until I get this sorted, I don't want those suicidal feelings ever again!

Apologies for explanation I am new to this.

Ladybt28

Re: Femoston Advice needed
« Reply #1 on: September 16, 2019, 06:05:51 PM »

Hi Sandie64 - You cannot cut the tablets in half because they have a special coating on the outside which makes them slower to dissolve in the stomach.

You may find that you are ok on Femeston because it has a different type of progesterone from Elleste Duet.  Femeston is dydrogesterone and Elleste Duet includes norethisterone.  Different women react to different types of progesterone and the only way to find out whether you are ok with it is to take it and see how it goes. x

jillydoll

• Hiya
« Reply #2 on: September 16, 2019, 06:16:18 PM »

Hello Sandie64
Welcome aboard.....not sure I can answer your question, but I'm sure someone will answer your question soon....I'm on Femoston Conti, and it was my best option out of a few hrt,s Id tried. Hopefully, it'll suite you aswell...
Hang on in there, someone with more knowledge than me will post soon...