Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Menopause Matters magazine ISSUE 76 out now. (Summer issue, June 2024)

media

Author Topic: Advice needed please  (Read 1514 times)

misskh

Advice needed please
« on: September 02, 2019, 12:17:53 PM »

I've been using Vagifem for a few years and for me it doesn't seem to be doing much...still not able to have sex comfortably, so in all honestly we don't.  :(
Recently I've been getting really smelly wee and incredibly sore down below. The smell goes if I drink plenty of water but the sorness has been going on for nearly a month now....odd how it's not always in one spot.
I've tried Replens which has offered some temporary relief, canesten thrush and hydrocortisone creams and Multi-gyn Actigel.

Having now had a lower dull ache in my tummy for a few days today I'd had enough and visited my Dr who ruled out a UTI, Thrush and Bacterial Vaginosis... I suffer with no discharge at all.
She seems to think that it's all part and parcel of the menopause,  I asked if I could use a prescribed cream around the vaginal area along with the vagifem but she seemed to think that they couldn't both be used together and has suggested that as I'm suffering with sweating, dryness and feeling generally worn down that I try an oral method tablet...which can ease much more symptoms.
I'm happy to do this if it means being soreness free and maybe even have my sexual relationship back with hubby...

Doesn't help that the computer system is down at my Dr surgery and she couldn't check re cream and vagifem together..
But she is going to phone later today with the answer....and also see if I'd any thoughts on taking oral tablets.

Has anyone tried vagifem and a cream?
Is the oral tablet a better type of HRT for some?
Any advice would be very much appreciated as I feel I'm suffering unnecessarily...

CLKD

• changes can be scary, even when we want them
Re: Advice needed please