Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Follow us on Twitter and Facebook

media

Author Topic: Stopping HRT  (Read 762 times)

AH10

Stopping HRT
« on: August 24, 2019, 11:47:01 AM »

Hi,

I've been using Evorel Conti for 9 months and have had a bleed on average every 2 weeks (natural period stopped c9 years ago). Have had various tests and all ok. Woke up on Thursday with a new bleed, last one only stopped 3 days before that.  It's not just the bleeding, it's cramps, headaches, mood, etc that go with it so I've had enough and have decided to stop HRT!! My question is, am I best to just stop or should I try to gradually reduce?

Thanks in advance x

Jari

Re: Stopping HRT
« Reply #1 on: August 24, 2019, 12:00:15 PM »

Hi AH10. I don't take hrt, but I've seen some ladies somehow cut the patch in half when they are reducing and coming off it.

I did try hrt once, only for 2 months and came off it over night, but I was on a low dose.

If your dose is low and you've only been on it a few months, then you may be able to come off it fairly quickly.

It might be worth asking your pharmacist what they would recommend? X

AH10

« Reply #2 on: August 24, 2019, 12:18:20 PM »

Thanks Jari, hadn't thought about speaking with pharmacist, I'll do that x

Kathleen

« Reply #3 on: August 24, 2019, 09:14:45 PM »

Hello AH10 and welcome to the forum.

I have used this HRT in the past and have cut the patches up to reduce the dosage. My GP told me that was an acceptable way to do it. How quickly you reduce is another matter and I'm sure that some current users will be along soon to advise you.  Hope this helps.

Take care and let us know how you get on.

K.

Hurdity

« Reply #4 on: August 25, 2019, 08:55:00 AM »

Hi AH10