Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Menopause Matters magazine ISSUE 76 out now. (Summer issue, June 2024)

media

Author Topic: Low Mood  (Read 1152 times)

Ally42

• First Flush
Low Mood
« on: August 04, 2019, 10:34:44 PM »

I am new to this menopause forum and I am finding the posts really useful.  I started with the menopause when I was 40. I had all the usual symptoms, but low mood, anxiety, irritability and hot flushes were especially hard to manage. I didn't realise it was the menopause, as I had a close family bereavement and put the low mood, anxiety etc down to the way I was feeling, it was only when I told my sister my symptoms she suggested I see my GP. I did, had the usual blood tests and was told I was post menopausal. I was so shocked I left without asking any questions, the GP didn't give me any further advice and I struggled along. I am now 45, and during the last 5 years I have been prescribed AD but nothing else. During this time I have left the job I loved, because I feel I can't cope with any kind of pressure, I have isolated myself from friends and family, I've gained 5 stone, and lack any motivation to do anything about it. I spend a lot of time with my mum since losing dad, but I'm constantly snapping at her as I feel irritable all of the time. I'm single and have been for around 7 years. I feel hopeless, sad and alone, and at the same time angry with myself for being the victim. My GP has prescribed Kliovance (I attended CBT and my wonderful therapist told me to see GP about HRT and DONT LEAVE THE SURGERY WITHOUT A PRESCRIPTION capitals intended). I have been taking this around 5 weeks, but tbh I feel worse than I did before. Any advice is welcome......It's hard to explain how I feel to friends/family, they don't seem to understand the hell of these menopausal symptoms. Ally x

Lanzalover

Re: Low Mood
« Reply #1 on: August 05, 2019, 05:39:21 AM »

Good morning  Ally42