Advanced search  

News:

Not a Forum member? You can still subscribe to our Free Newsletter

media

Author Topic: Support  (Read 960 times)

Jessica97

Support
« on: November 11, 2019, 07:13:33 PM »

I don't even know if I am posting in the correct place, this is my first time so please excuse me if I'm not doing this right.

So I'm 22 and I'm currently on Prostap injections, my consultant wants me to have these for 4 months before my hysterectomy.

I am really struggling to come to terms with the thought of all this and I'm just looking for some tips on how to cope with the hot flushes, constant headache and how I can get my head around this and also what else I should expect?

Thankyou
Jess x

CLKD

• changes can be scary, even when we want them
Re: Support
« Reply #1 on: November 11, 2019, 07:26:15 PM »

:o ....... your Consultant should be able to direct you to various groups that will support.  He should also discuss in detail about what HRT you will require at such a young age.  Do you have to rush into surgery?

There is a specific group - Daisy web-site - for girls with early menopause.

Can you save any eggs at all prior to surgery?

Whatsupwiththis

« Reply #2 on: November 11, 2019, 07:57:30 PM »

Jessica I hope all goes well.  Here I am complaining about VA in my late sixties and here you are at 22 about to undergo a hysterectomy.   Puts things into perspective that there are so many YOUNG women having to deal with all sorts of issues that I never had to face.  I wish you well.  There are so many phenomenal ladies on this site that I'm sure you will get very helpful info. like CLKD just offered.

Jessica97

« Reply #3 on: November 11, 2019, 08:53:40 PM »

Thankyou both for the messages

Unfortunately my consultant hasn't been very useful with the support side of this treatment.

I am under a private consultant but she has sent a prescription for tablet form HRT to my GP- I am waiting for this.