Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Got a story to tell for the magazine? Get in touch with the editor!

media

Pages: [1] 2 3

Author Topic: HRT or not? I am 43.  (Read 7082 times)

starchild76

• First Flush
HRT or not? I am 43.
« on: June 28, 2019, 03:22:52 PM »

Hi everyone. This is my first post and I am new to all this! For about a year, my periods have been irregular - sometimes every 2 weeks, sometimes every 8 weeks. There has been mid cycle bleeding and the periods have sometimes lasted up to 15 days.

I went to the GP and had an ultrasound (all fine), thyroid blood test (fine), bone density scan (fine), pelvic exam and swab (fine) and hormone bloods, which showed menopause was beginning or had begun.

The doctor is keen for me to go on HRT, but other than strange periods I am not sure I have extreme symptoms. I do think I am more anxious than I was 2 years ago and sometimes I am moody. I sometimes get bloated and occasionally nauseous, but that might be related to anxiety/stress. Anyway I'm trying to read up on HRT before an appointment with the GP next week and would appreciate hearing people's thoughts and experiences. It is so confusing!

Thanks  :)

Joaniepat

Re: HRT or not? I am 43.
« Reply #1 on: June 28, 2019, 05:59:58 PM »

Hi starchild76,  :welcomemm:
Goodness, where did you find this paragon of a GP? You've had better care than most of us get when entering menopause!

My advice is not to wait until your symptoms get bad, but to start asap for the protective effects that oestrogen gives. It will protect your health for the future, especially heart, bones and (hopefully) urinary tract and genitalia, although the latter two cannot be guaranteed as many women eventually need local oestrogen for that area as well as systemic. (Not all, though.)