Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Not a Forum member? You can still subscribe to our Free Newsletter

media

Author Topic: New member  (Read 1637 times)

itsmejojo

« on: April 06, 2019, 01:30:43 PM »

Hi

I'm new to the MM forum, I posted on the Utrogestan/Estrogel support group thread last week and had a couple of replies but  wondered if anyone else out there has any advice.

I'm 47 and been in the perimenopause wilderness for about 5 years, attempting to manage with the usual ‘alternative' stuff but the last 6 months have been awful. I had to give up my job last November, 3 hours of commuting everyday became impossible and brain fog/recall embarrassing.  I worked in a male dominated business and there was no understanding or consideration for my situation.

A history of thrombosis, TIA/stroke in my family had put me off HRT for a long time but symptoms got too much…night sweats, insomnia, fatigue, joint pain (hips, lower back and hands), brain fog, recall, weight gain etc, etc.

I read a lot of information and saw my GP a few times to discuss options before finally deciding, she advised the oestrogen patch and Mirena coil was the best route. I was reluctant to have the Mirena as I'd had a bad experience in the past where it got stuck in my cervix and had to removed.

I found the Easy HRT prescribing guide on the PCWHF and took it back to my GP.  She was happy to listen and asked for a copy of the guide to share with her colleagues!  She prescribed Estrogel and Utrogestan and told me to start taking it immediately.

On 1st March I started on 2 pumps (1 morning and 1 night) and 200mg (2 x 100mg capsules) Utrogestan orally at night.  I am still having periods, but they aren't regular and on day 3 I had the first one in 11 weeks.