Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Follow us on Twitter and Facebook

media

Author Topic: Joint pain, anyone?  (Read 1501 times)

Clarekins

Joint pain, anyone?
« on: March 11, 2019, 02:43:34 PM »

Hi there 🙋‍♀️

So glad to have discovered this forum

I'm new to this! Im 44 and I had a hysterectomy and BSO 8 weeks ago, started evorel patches 50 a few days post surgery.
I was doing ok, but in the last week i have had severe joint pains, in my hands, feet, knees and elbows. I'm wearing tubigrip supports on my knees,  a sudden change in direction can have me limping and in terrible pain. Hands are worse  :'(.

I saw a nurse at the gp, who was lovely and I cried throughout the appt, my patches have been increased to 75, advised to take ibuprofen for 7 days and had a blood test.
I just wondered if anyone has experienced such severe joint pain? I expected the other menopausal symptoms, but not this. I already take glucosamine, turmeric, omega 3 and vit d.
Just hoping it improves :sigh:

CLKD

• changes can be scary, even when we want them
Re: Joint pain, anyone?
« Reply #1 on: March 11, 2019, 02:46:03 PM »

Hi!  pity medics don't understand menopause symptoms B4 they go charging in with the knife!!

As oestrogen levels drop so muscles may become lax = aches and pains.  Over the counter pain relief should work, when I take Nurofen I swallow 2 as prescribed, then an hour later another capsule if pain hasn't improved. 

Hopefully you are not lifting anything heavier than the kettle  ;).  Do read the thread on vaginal atrophy - forewarned is forearmed.  We have a funny room too ;-)

:welcomemm:

Clarekins

« Reply #2 on: March 11, 2019, 02:55:06 PM »

Thanks for the reply. It just gets better, hey? * popping over to vaginal atrophy thread! ;D.