Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Got a story to tell for the magazine? Get in touch with the editor!

media

Author Topic: New Member, officially been diagnosed today !!!  (Read 1210 times)

sammyg47

• First Flush
New Member, officially been diagnosed today !!!
« on: October 17, 2018, 02:56:52 PM »

Hi Everyone,
This is my first time on this forum and was told to come on here for advice by my GP.
I am 47 and have today been officially diagnosed after having a blood test as I suspected I was menopausal.
My symptoms at the moment include:
Hot flushes both day and night
Feeling exhausted (this could be because i am a full time carer, a full time student in uni, i work one day a week and i also volunteer for citizens advice)
vaginal dryness
loss of libido
very emotional.
The GP did say to me today that if i wanted/needed HRT then he would be happy to prescribe it for me, i feel as though i want to look further into it and get some advice from ladies that are taking it/not taking it and just really see what my options are or if there is anything i can do to help the symptoms.
This has come as a bit of a shock as i thought i may be peri menopausal but no it is full on menopause, i wasnt sure as i do not have periods, due to having a womb ablation around 7 years ago, so could not be sure.
I didnt know whether to laugh or cry if i am honest as it is an end of an era so to speak.
Any advice/hints or tips would be gratefully recieved
Thanks
Sammy

CLKD

• changes can be scary, even when we want them
Re: New Member, officially been diagnosed today !!!
« Reply #1 on: October 17, 2018, 02:59:42 PM »

Oh we do both: laugh, cry, shout, giggle ....... you'll be in good company  :welcomemm: