Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Got a story to tell for the magazine? Get in touch with the editor!

media

Author Topic: Low progesterone? And what do I do/take for it.  (Read 4512 times)

Focus

Low progesterone? And what do I do/take for it.
« on: January 17, 2019, 08:53:46 AM »

I'm new to all this. And even newer to starting to learn about it all.

Here's where I'm at: GP has been very dismissive and useless. So I'm bypassing her totally now and educating myself.

Age 48 (almost 49).
Almost 9 odd months of increasingly heavy periods, larger and larger clots, increasing flooding.

From mid October: period 8 days long with all of the above. Still 3 weeks before next period.
Went to GP. Blood tests, low ferretin, given iron tablets and Transexemic Acid. GP dismissed perimenopause.

From November: 8 day long, very, very heavy, very clotty period.
Went to GP. Given Cerelle, which I took for one packet. One week break. Another 8 day longvery, very heavy, very clotty period.

Called NHS24. Referred to hospital. Given Norethistone. Doctor said I was 'the right age' for menopause
Went to GP. Asked for combined pill (which I was on for years and which worked really well).
Became ill with stress of preceding x months.

December. First packet of mini pill, some breakthrough bleeding but felt OK

January. Second packet of mini pill, heavy and long period mid packet with large clots and flooding.

Where am I at now?

The best I have ever felt was when I was on the Norethisterone. I actually felt like myself. Not talking about the endless bleeding having finally stopped, but I was my old self again.