Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Mobile version of the Forum Click here

media

Author Topic: Menopause and work -- how to cope?  (Read 1497 times)

Antigone

• First Flush
Menopause and work -- how to cope?
« on: August 20, 2018, 06:10:29 PM »

Hello there,

I am new to menopause and new to Menopause Matters! I am 46 and was confirmed as in menopause two months ago, having not had a period for a year. My hot flushes began in the middle of a heatwave!  :-\

I have been on Evorel Sequi for two months. It's probably too soon to tell but the flushes do seem to have reduced, though I have had a persistent, low level headache and also had a two week bleed. I suspect the headache was caused by the HRT. It began as a migraine and then never really went away. I'm keeping a diary so that I have all the information available when I see my GP for my three-month review.

What I was wondering is, has anyone had time off work due to the symptoms of the menopause? How do you cope with the anxiety of menopause, hot flushes, sleeplessness AND work?

Any advice gratefully received!

Antigone
« Last Edit: August 20, 2018, 06:14:26 PM by Antigone »

Golden retriever

Re: Menopause and work -- how to cope?
« Reply #1 on: August 20, 2018, 10:56:19 PM »

Hi Antigone
I was diagnosed eventually after 3 years of tests of having early menopause, very frustrating to say the least in February 2017.
Went on hrt in March and became anxious in late April.
It came on all of a sudden and really was embarrassing as it happened while telling students of the rules of an exam INFRONT of not only the students but 2 other teachers.
I became nervous while speaking and just got through it as best I could.

I passed it off to one of the teachers as ‘sorry but think I had too much coffee that morning.'