Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Menopause Matters magazine ISSUE 76 out now. (Summer issue, June 2024)

media

Author Topic: Sweats, sweats and more sweats on Elleste. Shall I stop?  (Read 1536 times)

wheatos

Sweats, sweats and more sweats on Elleste. Shall I stop?
« on: April 13, 2018, 11:12:49 AM »

Hi everyone,

I'm a MM newbie and a HRT newbie!

I am 52 years old and have had flushes and night/day sweats for about 4 years now, with a period about every 8 months. I've been managing to live with them so far but coupled with my lack of libido (which is distancing me from my husband), and realising my mum is still suffering at aged 75, decided to be proactive. I decided to start HRT and naively thought I'd feel so much better and it would be the end of all my problems!

I have just started on Elleste Duet 1mg and I'm on Day 11. And boy, do I feel absolutely worse than I did before! The sweats and flushes are brutal and, as a Community Nurse, I'm dripping sweat all over my patients!! It's awful. Wished I'd never started this and wonder if it's too late to stop now?!

I am going on a much-needed holiday at the end of the month, end of Progesterone phase of tablets and predicted period (which I was happy to deal with on my US Fly Drive!), but I don't think I can enjoy my holiday with constantly being sweaty and red!! (I have Rosacea too and my makeup just slides off, so I look like a wet beetroot!

The questions is, can I just stop now and hopefully be feeling 'normal' by my holiday and reassess HRT on my return? Or shall I just struggle on (and maybe ruin the trip?)

I will put in a telephone request to my GP but goodness knows when she'll get back to me!
 There are a lot of very knowledgable ladies on this forum, who could teach my GP a thing or two(!), so would appreciate all your experienced advice first and foremost.

Thank you in anticipation X 

CLKD